Imagine Peace

Screenshot 2018-06-26 at 12.29.52 PM - Edited

Walking through the world in the heat of a southern summer provides an opportunity to view the world a bit differently. It’s hot in Miami in June. This experiencing of such extreme heat and humidity is a new one for me. One of the first things I notice is that I am moving through this new world slower. Slower pace, slower expectations. The second thing I notice is that I alter my daily routine to accommodate the heat. And the third thing I notice is how gradually I am becoming accustomed to it all and how appreciative I am of the shade of strategically planted palm trees. The streets of all towns and cities should be lined with trees.

Finding myself here longer than expected, my thoughts often go to home and to friends, and reflecting on the continual deteriorating news of our nation. I know I’m not the only one who often feels totally and thoroughly overwhelmed wondering how people of previous times reacted when such take overs occurred in their lands. There has been a new call for civility on the part of  us citizens but no call for civility on the part of those ruling us. After days of reflection I find that I believe that it is not so much a call for civility that is being called for but a call for submission. When the party that calls for civility is the party that has lost civility long ago and voted for the most repulsive, uncivil person to “lead” our country, what else are we to believe?

With those feelings of sadness, I close wishing us, you, some sense of inner peace,

Mary

Leave a comment