SOL 16/15 A Journal Entry- A Snowy Day

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 6.15.38 PM

 

The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats

snowy day

Just an everyday journal entry:

Sunday March 15, 2015 – It’s snowing again; it’s beautiful, and I love it. I knew today would be a snowy day so we postponed our trip to visit Kyle and I put off all my school work until today.  As I sit here working I’m looking out the window day dreaming about snowshoeing in this beautiful snow as I know it may be one of our last. But here I sit, cat in my lap, papers spread out before me, typing away.

We start our poetry unit and our Eve Bunting author study unit this week. Her books are wonderful books to explore theme. These are two of my favorite units because they are fun and encourage inquiry and exploration. I’m particularly looking forward to the Poetry unit. Having Colby kids leading weekly poetry sessions will, I think, bring some authentic life to this unit. We are also preparing for our first Mystery Skype which I’m rather nervous about. But I am a bit relieved because I Skyped earlier today with the teacher from the “mystery” school we will be Skyping with later this week. We hit it off right away and now I’m really looking forward to our planned session on Thursday. She assured me that her kids know this is our first Skype and so they will be gentle with us 🙂  She teachers science to all the 5th graders in her school. Wow. How cool is that!? Her avatar even has a picture of her in the zero gravity tank down at the Space Camp in Alabama. Oh, so  much I’d like to talk to  her about!

Well, ready or not, it’s time to put this sidetrack aside and get back to work.

TTFN (ta ta for now),

Mary

 

2 thoughts on “SOL 16/15 A Journal Entry- A Snowy Day

  1. What is a Mystery School Sykpe visit? It sounds so cool. You kids are going to rock the poetry unit. We are getting our poems ready to send to people in April.
    Enjoy that snow.

    • You are the person who has the poem sign up?! I signed up for one! 🙂 Can’t wait. That is so cool. Mystery Skype is where you video chat with another school and you each try to guess each other’s location using yes/no questions and clues. We started getting ready today. It’s quite a process!!! PS – I think you mentioned you like maple syrup. PM me with your snail mail and I’ll send you a little bottle. Sap is just starting to flow. Another very late year.

Leave a Reply

